Vegan Options at IHOP (Updated Guide) (2023)


Vegan Options at IHOP

The International House of Pancakes (IHOP) is a multinational fast food restaurant chain known for serving breakfast in the United States since 1958. When the average American has a craving for pancakes, the first thing that comes to mind is IHOP. Without a doubt, IHOP caters to all Americans, including the vegan population. However, the options vegans have are few.

Expecting delicious vegan pancakes is pointless at IHOP since the restaurant chain doesn't serve them. Most of the vegan options you have at 1900 places are sides. These days, you can order vegan dishes like hash browns, toast, and minestrone soup if you're craving a fast-food breakfast.

As a vegan, it's not exactly easy to get hold of fast food. So next time you're at IHOP, try some of their dishes.vegan menu.

(Video) How to Eat Vegan (or Vegetarian) at IHOP (2022)

vegan soups and salads

Starting each meal with a healthy soup or salad is the best idea. This is especially true if the restaurant does not offer vegan entrees. Here are some soups and salads to try at IHOP.

homemade salad

Like many other fast food restaurants, IHOP has a perfect vegan salad to start your meal. In addition to the house salad, you can also opt for the vegan citrus and walnut salad. However, both articles are quite similar.

Since croutons are generally not vegan, ask them to make your salad without them. However, you can opt for a wide range of dressings. Vega dressings at IHOP include orange vinaigrette, fat-free raspberry vinaigrette, creamy Italian dressing, and Catalina or French.

To make the house salad more interesting, you can add various additives to the salad. The onions, cucumbers, tomatoes, and mushrooms are all vegan. However, it will likely increase the cost of your salad. If you want a larger portion, you can order a Big House Salad.

minestrone soup

Although most chains choose to cook soup with itChicken Soup, IHOP has a vegan option for you. Similar to Olive Garden, IHOP allows you to order a batch of minestrone soup to satisfy your taste buds. This soup is made entirely from vegetarian and dairy-free foods.

Minestrone is usually served with a stack of crackers. You may want to avoid these cookies as they are pre-made and generally not vegan.

(Video) How to Order Vegan at IHOP / IHOP Goes Vegan

vegan food

If you're at IHOP and want to start your day with something tasty and vegan, try some of the breakfast items below.

english muffin

If there's a breakfast item at IHOP that many love, it's this one.english muffin. Instead of butter, you can fill the muffin with jam, which will enhance the flavor of this food. The English muffin can be eaten on its own as a breakfast dessert or used as a cookie substitute with minestrone soup.


You can order any fresh oatmeal from IHOP as a vegan breakfast. All you have to do is boil it in water instead of milk. An oatmeal breakfast is not only healthy, but also very versatile. If you wish, you can order it with salad or fruit as a side dish to give it the right morning touch.

Cup with fresh fruits

The fruit cup you can order at IHOP is one of the most versatile items on the menu. You can add fruits like cantaloupe, orange, watermelon, and pineapple mix to your cup for a sweet and healthy treat. The fresh fruit cup is a great breakfast option when you want to eat healthy. You can also order it with another dish for a balanced meal.

To piss off

French fries are a great breakfast substitute for dishes like eggs and bacon. This basic breakfast will increase the carbs in a vegan way if you ask the waiter to make your breakfast without butter. The hash browns available at IHOP can be topped with various toppings such as salsa, ketchup, and avocado.

Toasted Fermented Pasta

Nothing like starting the day with a toast. Since butter is not a vegan option, you can ask for a side dish with fruit, jam or avocado. You can unleash your inner foodie and explore amazing DIY breakfast items like: B. Avocado Toast.

(Video) How to be a vegan at IHOP

stuffed vegetables

You may not find this vegan delight on the actual menus at most IHOP locations. However, this is a vegan dish that you can make anywhere. This is the basic understanding of chefs, they consider this to be a vegan omelette. So what you get is a plate of stir-fried vegetables like spinach, bell peppers, tomatoes, broccoli, onions, and mushrooms.

You can get creative with your dish and ask to be garnished with ice cream sauces, cheese blintzes and crepes. Vegan sauce and dressing options include tortillas, salsa, cranberry compote, strawberry dressing, chocolate sauce, and peanut butter.

seasoned fries

seasoned friesthey are breakfast for all vegans; That's what you get at IHOP. French fries make a great garnish for everyday meals, or they can be enjoyed on their own with a variety of dips and dips.


CookedPapait comes with butter or cheese as described on the restaurant menu. However, you can ask for the dish to be served without butter and cheese for a vegan option. add friesVegan spices or salsasit can make food tastier.

vegan drinks

To complete a healthy vegan meal, a few drinks complete your breakfast experience. while mostthe vegan options you find at IHOP are packaged drinksKnowing your options is great. Below are some of the vegan drinks you can get at IHOP.

  • flavored coffee
  • Herbal and fermented tea
  • iced teas
  • Pozo
  • lemonades
  • start
  • juices
  • Garbage
  • Orange
  • oxicoco
  • Pomelo
  • Tomato
  • Selected alcoholic beverages

The drink options you find at IHOP depend on where you are. It is better to talk to your servant before deciding.

(Video) IHOP: We’d love a vegan menu item

vegan meal ideas

While we have to wait for it to arrivevegan pancakes at IHOP, there are some meals that you can design yourself.

vegan breakfast options

Below is a list of some vegan options that can be combined at IHOP to create abalanced vegan food.

  • Flour tortilla with plenty of peanut butter topped with strawberry or blueberry compote. Roll up your tortilla and order it with a side of fruit peel.
  • Toasted English muffin stuffed with jam and avocado. Ask for it with a juice or the one of your preference and sautéed vegetables.
  • Oatmeal cooked in water with fruit peel and syrup of your choice. Add a side of French fries or baked potatoes for the best effect.
  • A serving of grits along with sourdough toast. Sprinkle toast with peanut butter or jam/syrup of your choice. Order it with French fries or seasoned fries.

vegan lunch and dinner

IHOP is a predominantly breakfast-oriented restaurant chain. However, it does have a few options to suit lunch or dinner. Preparing a vegan meal for lunch and dinner can be difficult as all the available options are breakfast based. You can try any of the following meal combinations for a balanced meal:

  • Sautéed vegetables along with double fries. You can add tea or coffee to this combination or top it off with a shot of soda. If you need more vegetables, you can order a side dish with the house salad.
  • Served with a side of house saladMore-TortillasAnd chips. Get a stuffing of stir-fried vegetables with parsley and avocado for added flavor and protein.
  • Minestrone soup and two slices of avocado toast (sour toast with avocado garnish). Add broccoli and baked potatoes with sauces for a hearty breakfast.

The future of vegan nutrition at IHOP

In some reports from Vegan Outreach, IHOP is currently investigating vegan options for its menu. You are looking forplant-based animal product alternativesto make your menu more inclusive.

Vegan Outreach, along with PETA and Compassion Over Killing, shared with fast food chains that vegans love to eat out too. As a result, they managed to have many fast food restaurants.Vegan options on their menus.

According to Vegan Outreach publications inInstagram, their petitions were signed by more than 20,000 people. This will allow IHOP to serve vegan pancakes to its customers in the future. Today's vegan alternatives will continue to thrive at IHOP as the vegan population can enjoy breakfast at America's largest breakfast chain.

(Video) How to eat Vegan at IHOP and any restaurant

To involve

Due to petitions created by NGOs like Vegan Outreach, Compassion Over Killing, and PETA, fast food restaurant chains, including IHOP, have vegan options on their menus. Although there are only a few vegan alternatives at IHOP, there is plenty of room for creativity.

Soon you will be able to enjoy vegan pancakes at IHOP. Until then, though, enjoy the vegan foods mentioned above at IHOP.


Does IHOP have vegan stuff? ›

Can I Eat Vegan at IHOP? Yes! As with any restaurant that is not 100% vegan, cross-contamination may be an issue for you but they do offer vegan options. Currently, you can order their Plant-Based Sausages, Avocado Toast (with modifications) and Create Your Own Hashbrowns or Crispy Breakfast Potatoes with veggies.

Are IHOP eggs vegan? ›

No, IHOP pancakes have egg and milk in them so they are not vegan.

Are the breakfast potatoes at IHOP vegan? ›

First up on this list we have a breakfast staple: hashbrowns. The hashbrowns at IHOP are 100% vegan. These hashbrowns can be topped with avocado, salsa or ketchup.

Is the plant based sausage at IHOP vegan? ›

The new Plant Based Cali sandwich features a vegan sausage breakfast patty created especially for IHOP by vegetarian brand Sweet Earth, mung bean-based JUST Egg, arugula, roasted tomatoes, and avocado, all served on a vegan bun.

Does IHOP have vegan pancakes? ›

The International House of Pancakes is not a particularly vegan-friendly restaurant—but we're here to help you navigate the menu! None of the pancakes at IHOP are vegan, but you can still fill up on other grub. Here are all the vegan, vegetarian, plant-based, and dairy-free menu options.

Can Vegans eat pancakes and waffles? ›

If the pancakes don't contain animal products, then yes, vegans can eat them. The great majority of pancakes around the world, however, are not vegan-friendly. Vegans need to confirm the ingredients to ensure their meal is completely plant-based.

Are Cracker Barrel pancakes vegan? ›

Unfortunately, all of the pancakes at Cracker Barrel contain milk and eggs and cannot be made vegan.

What is Ihops plant based sausage made of? ›

The new vegan breakfast sandwich, dubbed the Cali Plant-Based Sammie, features a pea protein-based sausage patty that Sweet Earth designed exclusively for IHOP.

Does IHOP have veggie omelette? ›

SIMPLE & FIT Veggie Omelette: Under 600 calories, this lighter option is made with egg substitute, mixed with a blend of fresh green peppers, onions, sliced mushrooms and oven-roasted tomatoes and served with fresh fruit.

Are Chick-Fil-A waffle fries vegan? ›

And last but not least, the super-sidekick to every Chick-fil-A order, the crowd favorite for three decades, the crispy, savory #cheatday treat… yes, our Waffle Potato Fries® are vegan-friendly!

Are Dairy Queen french fries vegan? ›

Yes! Dairy Queen offers hash browns and french fries that are 100 percent vegan (yay!). Unlike other fast-food chains that use animal fat, Dairy Queen deep-fries these snacks to a golden brown crisp using soybean oil.

Are Chick-Fil-A hash browns vegan? ›

Are the hashbrowns vegan at Chick-fil-A? Yes. The hashbrowns are vegan friendly.

Can vegans eat Vienna sausage? ›

The plant-based Vienna sausages are of course particularly suitable for vegans, vegetarians or flexitarians. The reasons for the renunciation of animal products are versatile and often one looks then for a vegetable substitute.

Can vegans eat beyond sausage? ›

IS IT REALLY VEGAN? Absolutely! Beyond Meat® products are plant-based and vegan.

Is vegan chicken plant-based? ›

Both homemade and store-bought vegan chicken are typically made with the same plant-based ingredients. You can easily get the same texture using tofu, jackfruit, pea protein, or seitan.

Can Vegans eat pancakes and syrup? ›

While pancakes are vegan, many people wonder about the sugary concoction that often accompanies it. Commercial syrups can contain animal fat or butter, so they aren't considered vegan. You've got to be careful of what you consume, and many sugary treats aren't vegan.

What pancake syrup is vegan? ›

Here are our favorite vegan maple syrups:

Eggo Syrup. Wholesome Maple Syrup. Log Cabin Maple Syrup. Coombs Family Maple Syrup.

Can Vegans eat Aunt Jemima pancakes? ›

You may not know this, but Aunt Jemima's original pancake mix is vegan. It's basically enriched flour, sugar, leavening mixture, and salt. While the recipe on the box calls for milk and eggs, these two ingredients can easily be replaced without sacrificing taste.

Can vegans eat Eggo waffles? ›

To create its first vegan waffle, Eggo replaced eggs with a vegan egg made from soy flour and wheat gluten. The company went with a Liège-style waffle—a heartier variety that stands up to a sandwich format—which is sweetened with traditional pearl sugar that gives it extra texture.

Are McDonald's pancakes vegan? ›

Are McDonald's pancakes vegan? No. The pancakes at McDonald's contain both eggs and milk.

Are potato waffles vegan? ›

These crispy, fluffy, cheesy, savory waffles are vegan, gluten free and perfectly for loading up with your favorite toppings. Great for entertaining or a holiday brunch! Just as the title suggest, these are literally waffles made out of mashed potatoes.

Can vegans eat cream crackers? ›

Yes, cream crackers are suitable for vegans. Despite what the name might suggest, there are no dairy products used in the ingredients or manufacturing of the savoury snacks. Check out this edition of our Vegan Shopping Basket for an insight into all of our favourite plant-based savoury snacks!

Can vegans eat peanut butter crackers? ›

Some varieties of Ritz do contain non-vegan dairy, and the nutrition labels make that clear. There are two exceptions: The peanut butter Cracker Sandwiches and the Seasonal snowflake crackers are vegan but are made on equipment shared with milk products. They are labeled with allergen warnings.

Is IHOP syrup vegan? ›

The blueberry, strawberry, and maple syrups at IHOP are all vegan. The butter pecan syrup is not vegan because it contains spray dried butter. Which pancakes are vegan?

Is plant-based sausage healthier than real sausage? ›

The truth is, probably not. Plant-based sausages sold in supermarkets are likely to have just as much salt as their meat counterparts, so they're unlikely to make it onto a list of health-foods. However, vegan sausages are likely to have considerably less saturated fat making them a healthier option overall.

What is vegan sausage skin made from? ›

They are made from water-soluble polysaccharide (which in layman's terms is a type of carbohydrate similar to cellulose). They come on a 12mtr concertinaed rod. Simply cut to the length you require and slide on to your sausage nozzle. The casings come ready to use and do not need soaking.

Is vegan sausage real meat? ›

What is vegan sausage? Vegan sausage can consist of a number of different ingredients, but, instead of animal-based meat, most plant-based brands on the market use pea or soy protein to get a similar texture. For the taste, just like regular sausage, seasoning, spices, and oils are often added to the mix.

Are Denny's pancakes vegan? ›

Are the pancakes at Denny's vegan? No. Both the Buttermilk Pancakes and the Hearty 9-Grain Pancakes at Denny's contain eggs and milk.

Does IHOP have a mushroom burger? ›

Our new thick and juicy beef patty topped with melted Swiss cheese, mushrooms, spinach & sautéed onions on a warm grilled bun — dig in!

Are IHOP waffles dairy free? ›

Updated January 2023!

Yes, their pancakes and waffles are all made with milk, but they still have a good selection of breakfast, lunch, and dinner options to choose from, with the help of our dairy-free menu guide.

Does Taco Bell have vegan options? ›

Aside from the Spicy Potato Soft Tacos, all tacos, soft and crunchy, can be vegan so long as you swap the meat for black or refried beans and leave off the cheese, sour cream, and chipotle sauce. Try the Crunchy Taco Supreme fresco-style with beans instead of beef and load up on add-ons.

Are Wendy's fries vegan? ›

Are Wendy's fries vegan? Yes, Wendy's fries are vegan! They are made without any animal products. Just note that they are fried in the same oil as Wendy's other food, which makes it a no-go for some vegans.

What is vegan at Burger King? ›

Vegan options at most Burger King locations include the Impossible Whopper, hash browns, classic fries, French toast sticks, garden side salad, and Mott's applesauce. Other vegan items may be available depending on the location.

What are McDonald's fries vegan? ›

The fries are not coated in any fats or substances from an animal. Once at the restaurant, our fries are simply cooked in dedicated frying vats in a non-hydrogenated blend of sunflower and rapeseed oil which is 100 percent suitable for vegans.

Do Mcdonalds have vegan fries? ›

Are McDonald's Fries Vegan? Sadly, NO. Even the french fries at McDonald's aren't vegan—at least not in the United States. Some other countries (such as Canada) do have vegan fries, but if you're in the US, pass on the fries.

Does Burger King have vegan French fries? ›

Yes! Burger King uses vegetable oil for frying their french fries, so the Burger King fries are vegan! However, they do share a fryer with other non-vegan foods, so if you're worried about cross-contamination, then skip the fries.

Are Popeyes fries vegan? ›

Are Popeye's French fries vegan? Popeyes fries everything in beef tallow including the Cajun Fries. So no, we do not consider their fries (or their hash browns) to be vegan.

Are subway hash browns vegan? ›

Not only do they taste great and add diversity to the menu, the T.L.C. Tikka is also approved by the Vegan Society. Other vegan items on the menu include the Meatless Meatball Marinara which won PETA's 2020 award for Best Vegan Sandwich, the Plant Patty, Veggie Delite, Vegan Double Choc Cookie and Hash Browns.

Is beyond Italian sausage vegan? ›


THE WORLD'S FIRST PLANT-BASED SAUSAGE THAT LOOKS, SIZZLES AND SATISFIES LIKE PORK. The missing link that serves up all the mouthwatering sizzle and juicy satisfaction of pork sausage, with all the benefits of plant protein.

Whats a good vegan sausage? ›

Vegan Sausage Brands

Beyond Meat: Beyond Sausage (three varieties) BirdsEye: Green Cuisine Meat-Free Sausages (UK only) Field Roast: Sausages and Pepperoni. Frieda's: Soyrizo (Also sold by Trader Joe's, branded as, “Soy Chorizo”)

What part of the pig is Vienna sausage? ›

The swine parts used are the pork shoulder and leg, so, no waste parts are used in the producing and processing of the wurstel.

Is Impossible Burger vegan? ›

Is the Impossible Burger vegan? All products from Impossible Foods, including the Impossible Burger, are free of animal products and byproducts. This makes it a great option for vegans, vegetarians, and anyone looking to reduce their consumption of meat and animal products.

Is Mcdonald's Beyond Meat burger vegan? ›

Double McPlant® has arrived!

A vegan burger made with two juicy plant-based patties co-developed with Beyond Meat® featuring vegan sandwich sauce, ketchup, mustard, onion, pickles, lettuce, tomato, and a vegan alternative to cheese in a sesame seed bun. Vegan certified.

What is the impossible burger made of? ›

The Impossible Burger is made from soy protein concentrate, coconut oil, sunflower oil, potato protein, methylcellulose, yeast extract, salt, gums, and water and additives, including vitamin B12, zinc, vitamin B6, thiamin (B1) and niacin. The ingredient that gives an Impossible Burger the taste of meat is heme.

What do you call a vegan that eats chicken? ›

A pollotarian is someone who eats poultry but not red meat or pork products. People choose this dietary pattern for various reasons. For some, becoming pollotarian is a step towards becoming vegetarian, while others are more concerned about the health and environmental effects of eating red meat.

Is the plant-based Mcdonald's vegan? ›

McPlant® A vegan burger made with a juicy plant-based patty co-developed with Beyond Meat® featuring vegan sandwich sauce, ketchup, mustard, onion, pickles, lettuce, tomato, and a vegan alternative to cheese in a sesame seed bun. Vegan certified.

What's the difference between vegan and plant-based vegan? ›

Both meal plans have made headlines for their health benefits in recent years and while they are similar, there are some key differences: Vegan diets eliminate all animal products, while plant-based diets do not necessarily eliminate animal products, but focus on eating mostly plants, such as fruits, vegetables, nuts, ...

Can Vegans eat wings? ›

Vegan wings can be made from a variety of different ingredients, including vital wheat gluten (seitan). Cauliflower wings are a popular, lighter option. Soy-based ingredients like tempeh and tofu also make great meatless wings. This recipe uses seitan, tofu, and jackfruit for the most authentic mock chicken texture.

Do they have vegan chicken wings? ›

There are many versions of vegan chicken wings. One of them is seitan made with vital wheat gluten. Other versions of vegan chicken wings are tofu, a combination of seitan and tofu, or are made with cauliflower, such as this recipe for Air Fryer Buffalo Cauliflower. However, remember these aren't actual chicken wings.

Is like meat chicken wings vegan? ›

Each pack of Like Buffalo Chick'n Wings includes a pouch of vegan buffalo sauce so you can toss, sauce and dip to your hearts content, while staying plant-based. We'd call it (drumroll please)…a Wing-Wing Situation.

What is Ihops plant-based sausage made of? ›

The new vegan breakfast sandwich, dubbed the Cali Plant-Based Sammie, features a pea protein-based sausage patty that Sweet Earth designed exclusively for IHOP.

What do vegans eat on Hot Ones? ›

Vegan on 'Hot Ones'

Most “Hot Ones” guests eat chicken wings on the show, however, Evans offers a vegan option, too. Many guests also choose plant-based milk like soy or oat rather than cow's milk to counter the effects of the hot sauce. Whatever the guests eat and drink, Evans does the same.

Do vegans eat KFC? ›

Coated in our famous 11 herbs and spices, our Original Recipe Vegan Burger will definitely satisfy your plant-based cravings. It's got the Colonel's stamp of approval and PETA's too - crowning it the best vegan chicken burger out there.

Does Chick Fil A have vegan chicken? ›

No, there is no vegan chicken. But since other fast-food chains have introduced plant-based substitutes for chicken, we might see this at Chick-fil-A before long. Does Chick-fil-A have a vegan sandwich? Unfortunately, no.

What is most vegan chicken made of? ›

WHAT IS VEGAN CHICKEN MADE OF? Seitan, which is made from wheat protein, has long been used as a replacement for chicken and other meats, particularly in home cooking.

What tastes like chicken but is vegan? ›


The stringy texture, however, is similar to that of chicken making it one of the most popular whole food vegan chicken substitutes. Uses -Jackfruit has a soft, melt-in-your-mouth texture and works best in recipes that substitute pulled chicken and chicken pieces.

What vegan chicken does burger King use? ›

Offering guests a twist on Burger King's Original Chicken Sandwich, the Impossible Original Chick'n Sandwich features a plant-based patty from Impossible Foods. It comes topped with shredded lettuce and mayonnaise on a toasted sesame seed bun.

What brand hot wings are vegan? ›

Today, Lizzo appeared on popular show Hot Ones, where celebrities answer pressing questions about their lives as they eat chicken wings soaked in 10 increasingly spicy hot sauces. The musical artist took on the challenge with vegan wings provided by Daring Foods and was confident that she would make it to level 10.


1. Cooking Meat Inside Vegan Restaurants!
2. Healthy Fast Food Guide Breakfast in 6 MINUTES | IHOP | Breakfast | Healthy Fast Food Egg
(David Paykin)
3. Surviving Articial Food: Money , Mind & Detox connection w/ 19 Keys & Surviving Vegan
(Earn Your Leisure)
4. The Best Foods to Cleanse & Repair Your Kidneys | Dr. Mandell
(Katie Makes It Vegan)
6. How to Make French Toast!! Classic Quick and Easy Recipe
(Crouton Crackerjacks)


Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Jerrold Considine

Last Updated: 06/11/2023

Views: 6020

Rating: 4.8 / 5 (78 voted)

Reviews: 85% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Jerrold Considine

Birthday: 1993-11-03

Address: Suite 447 3463 Marybelle Circles, New Marlin, AL 20765

Phone: +5816749283868

Job: Sales Executive

Hobby: Air sports, Sand art, Electronics, LARPing, Baseball, Book restoration, Puzzles

Introduction: My name is Jerrold Considine, I am a combative, cheerful, encouraging, happy, enthusiastic, funny, kind person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.